We All Can Make a Difference…

Being in the medical field, one never truly knows the impact they actually make on someone’s life or even a family’s life. For instance, someone could offer a tired parent in the PICU a break, show support during a stressful time or even a simple “Hi, how are you doing today?” Could really brighten someone’s day. We just never know whose day we may make with a small gesture.

Over the years, I have made a difference in many people’s lives, including children. From helping families within my community at Christmas time to volunteering at my local children’s hospital.

…..

Towards the end of my shift on Monday Oct. 17, I was told by a mother of a patient how much her son and herself really appreciated the time that I spent with them. This mother also told me that her son calls me his “special friend.” The mom didn’t have to tell me that, but she told me that because, she wanted too and that made me feel good. Even though I am a practicum student, I am still helping make a difference.

We all can make a difference in some small way; we just have to choose to do so.

One person can make a difference, and everyone should try

                                                                   John F. Kennedy

 

Leave a Reply

