I Have a Dream…

Hi everyone! Hope each and everyone of you is having a great new year!

 

We all have goals and dreams that we want to achieve during our life time. It could be going on a mission trip, writing a book or book series (which I have done) or getting married and having a family. While all of the above things I would like to do someday, there is something that I want to achieve more than anything (at the moment).

With my child life knowledge, child development knowledge, family studies knowledge, and psychology knowledge, my overall career goal in regards to child life, is to start a child life department in a children’s psychiatric hospital.

I know, I know, you probably read that last part and thought two things. What! And why?

“Why do you want to start a child life department in a children’s psychiatric hospital?”  I get that question asked a lot when it comes to my career goals.

The reason is simple. Children who are diagnosed with a mental illness deserve to know what their condition is and how it is going to be treated, just like a cancer patient.

I want children to know that their illness is nothing they have done. They didn’t receive this illness because they did something bad or what have you. I want them to know that it is not their fault. I want children to be able to have proper coping skills when they are experiencing a manic phase or some other symptom of their mental illness.  But above all, I want children from an early age to understand that their illness (whether that be mental or physical) doesn’t define them. They define themselves.

I know that this dream is ways down the road, but I am going to make it happen. I am going to make sure that children who have mental illnesses are treated with respect, understand their conditions, make sure their voices are heard and will be accepted for who they really are.

Until next time!

mental-health-pic

4 thoughts on “I Have a Dream…

  1. hello, just suscribed to your wonderful blog! I would love to support a CCLS unit to any psychiatric hospital that helps children! Having worked in mental health systems; they truly need it! thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi lovemymmax

      Thanks for the subscription and the comment! This has been a dream of mine for a while and I can’t wait to see it achieved. However, I am still a student and am in need of a child life internship, so this won’t be accomplished for a while, but I can still dream 🙂 Your welcome!

      Like

  2. hi peace play and love, yes, I hear you! I see you on child life connection and its a bit daunting to keep working on obtaining an internship! good luck and keep moving foward. where are you in the process?

    Like

    • Yes it is! I am ready to be done and working in a children’s hospital. Thanks! What is your name? If you don’t mind me asking. I don’t plan on giving up, I know this what I am meant to do 🙂 At the moment, I have applied for summer internships and I completed a child life practicum this past fall. The practicum was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it to those wanting to go into Child Life. Are you a student or a CCLS?

      Like

Leave a Reply

